Zero to hundred

I didn’t completely abandon my original intention, but it did turn out a bit different.
I wanted to do short blogs about my progress, both as a way of motivating myself and creating a guide. But I kept feeling like I didn’t have something worth reporting on.

Several weeks later, the app is in the Windows Store without a single post about it.

So a quick summary of where I am at is in order:

  1. I used GitHub Pages to host the product website
  2. I put the source code up on GitHub
  3. The app is named homebased
    1. It has an unlimited trial without any limitations, so don’t worry about the $0.99 🙂
      1. I didn’t make it free, because I want to keep the psychological option of sales and giving it away for free to promote it

What’s next

iwillmakebettermistakestomorr

As you can see, the app is the very bare minimum in all sense of the word.

I see it really needs to:

  1. Improve usability
    1. I developed a first time user experience, that guides you through the setup, but I admit it’s not dummy-proof
    2. Because I wanted something generic that supports different services, it actually turned out a bit clumsy to use with the single service it does support
  2. Improve user interface
    1. although the app does its main job in the background, it could be a bit more inviting visually to set up
    2. I wanted to follow the default Windows Phone settings screens and style, but maybe that’s just an excuse 😉
  3. Add features
    1. You can only connect to IFTTT, there’s more relevant API’s out there
    2. Support multiple users, because if there’s more than one person that lives in a household, you don’t want to lights get turned off just because you are out

Theme music for this blog post

Zero to hundred

One thought on “Zero to hundred

Leave a Reply

